Thursday, March 26, 2026

Thursday's Threads

 

Outfit Day! We aren't getting too all in on outfits just yet thanks to all the mud required layers to stay warm... But we're getting there! Today's model is Shiny, and here's what she's wearing:

She's the cutest. 

Bridle: Pinnacle
Brow band: Dark Jewel Designs
Guess I should have shot this from the other side, I didn't realize it came out so dark! But anyway, this is our bitless bridle from Pinnacle that I really like. I've had a few over the years, and this is my favorite. 

Saddle:Butet
Saddle Pad: Smartpak
Half Pad: Stephens
I forgot I had these Smartkpak saddle pads, but I'm glad I rediscovered them because I like them a lot! They are kind of a baby pad hybrid. A little more structured that a regular baby pad, but not bulky like a saddle pad. This half pad was Pammon's, and the quilt barn is green. I only have two green mattes half pads, so this one is serving that purpose for Shiny. It's a hair big for this saddle, but good enough. She isn't wearing boots today because mud. 

Here's what I wore this week:
Yeah, it's still been chilly. But today might get to 60 so I'm pretty excited for that! Despite the cold, I'm trying to help spring along with some  pastels today. I thought about wearing the mint colored boots, but they aren't mud friendly so I went with these older ones instead. Still pastel adjacent! 

Helmet: One K
I had meant to pop some lavender accents into this helmet, but I forgot apparently. So it's just gray. But it matches my boots anyway!

Sweater: J Crew
Vest: Eddie Bauer
At the end of last winter I replaced my old black Eddie Bauer vest with this new one. The old one was probably ten years old. The pockets were all torn, it had a few small holes, and the zipper was only a few wears away from quitting completely. So it was time. And I'm glad I did it because Eddie Bauer is going out of business. I popped over to their nearby outlet the other day to try and snag some deals, but the deals weren't impressive so I didn't get anything. Aren't you proud of me?! 

Belt: C4
Fun fact, I had a dr's appointment in the morning, so I when I chose my outfit I picked the lightest items I could find that were still appropriate for the weather. C4 belts weigh much less than a leather belt, so it had to be one of those! 

Breeches: RJ Classics
Most of the newer breeches are VERY light weight, but they aren't warm enough when it's not even 40 degrees out. (Which is a big complaint of mine. I think breeches manufacturers are only catering to people who go to warm climates these days. Winter breeches exist yes, but mostly they are all full seat and tights. Neither of which are what I want.) But I digress, I chose these RJ's today for their light weight but still warm enough fabric.

Boots: Celeris UK

I left a little dirt on the heel to keep this real... Haha! This is actually the second pair of Celeris boots I ever ordered. They'll be seven years old this year, and are still going strong! My first pair which is about six months older than these are ready for a new zipper and for some stitching repairs, but otherwise still in good shape too. I am really impressed with the quality from this brand. I wear these a lot, so they really are durable. 

That's it for this week! Any colors or themes you're excited to see soon? Now that it's getting nice out I'm excited to have some fun with outfits again. 

Wednesday, March 25, 2026

What's Up Wednesday

 


We're plugging along over here! Last week we rode several days in a row which was LOVELY. But we have had a lot of rain and a few cold/windy days too. The trouble with all the rain is that the ground is really saturated from all the snow melt. That one long side of the ring that stayed frozen the longest is now too wet to use. But that's okay, we're just sticking to the quarter line on that side. 

But there are bigger problems in other areas. Monday I had to have the manure bin emptied (already). It was sooner than normal because when it was last emptied everything was so frozen they could only dump about half of it. (Still got billed full price though.) Anyway, they came Monday to do that. I was in the house and somehow didn't hear them out there. But when I went out to feed dinner this is what greeted me:



The photos do no justice to how deep these ruts actually are. This is "going to need a professional" sort of driveway problems. It's honestly exhausting. I'm never going to have money to show again with all the property stuff around here lately. The furnace, the snow plowing, the tree removal I need to schedule.... The list goes on and on. Oh the joys of home/farm ownership! 

Anyway, back to the horses. We're still working on our fitness, so rides are mostly walking with slowly increasing amounts of trot. We're starting to do more walking with proper shape now too. So lifting the belly, giving at the poll. Working on that topline! Al is very amenable to it, Eros has opinions and Shiny does it when she's decided she's ready. So they haven't changed who they are with the time off! Ha!


For the most part, we've had lovely and uneventful rides. I did have to abort with Al one day last week. It was a cold and windy day, which isn't Al's favorite. He struggles keeping his attention on me when the trees are blowing around and the birds are flittering around in the brush. But he was really trying! Of course, the neighbor decided after looking right at me while I got in, that it was the perfect time to pull out his gas powered blower and get to work on the leaves in his yard. On a windy day. Seems like a silly time to try and clean up leaves, but what do I know? Anyway, it was too much. Al didn't do anything wrong, but he let me know his quarter had run out for riding. Since I'm not especially strong at the moment, I chose to listen to him and I got off. But we did finish up with some ground work and he was very good for it. At first I felt hugely frustrated and disappointed. But then I stepped back and decided not have such big feelings about this. He really made a big effort which probably wouldn't have been the case last year. And the next day we had a wonderful ride! He's been much more forward so far this year which is SO nice! I hope it continues. In a forward trajectory. 

I have a funny Al story that I forgot to share last week. One Saturday not long ago the horses were all SASSY. Even Shiny. When Al was in the ring for his turnout, Shiny got a case of the zoomies and was running around screaming. (She does this like twice a year.) There was bucking. There was REARING! And you know what Al did? He came back to the gate and whinnied for me to come out. So I did, and he looked out at Shiny's field like, "Mom, something's wrong with Shiny." It was very cute. I love that he comes to get me when he thinks something is wrong. (Also Shiny was fine, just getting out her spring yayas.)

I had put the Back on Track cap on my Chanukah list this year. I used it first on Eros because he's been a little weird this spring. Kind of snorty and nervous. It seemed to make a huge difference for him. I've been riding Al in it too and I feel like he's less flighty with it too. Though it wasn't a magic fix for that day I talked about above. Still, nice to have a tool in the box for the spooky days! 


Eros gave me a little scare the other day. He was fine when I fed lunch but then he was just being kind of odd in his stall. Like really irritated. Not pawing or rolling, but he was attacking his ball and dumping his buckets. Both things he normally only does when he's bothered. Usually when he thinks his next meal is late. And then he laid down. Quietly, not rolling. But it wasn't a usual nap time for him. I touched base with the vet just for an opinion. And his was the same as mine: check temp and monitor. Important to note, there was plenty of manure, and I really wasn't suspecting colic so much. But maybe?

Long story shorter, he took a long nap and then was back to normal. No temp ever though I did monitor for a couple days. Phew. Dodged a bullet. I think he was just a little gassy maybe. Some of the new hay is pretty stalky too, which he finds unfavorable. So he might have just been mad that the hay wasn't to his liking. Wouldn't put that past him. 

He's been good for riding, though still very suspicious of the far end of the ring. When I turn him out, he won't even down there all the way until Shiny is turned out to protect him. Geldings are so silly. I don't think he's sad that with all the rain that end has been too soft to ride on. 

Remember that five minutes when it wasn't stupid cold out?

Shiny's been exactly the same as always. And that's what I love about her. She is the most comfortable being in herself that I've encountered. She should give a ted talk on loving yourself, advocating for yourself, and standing up for what you believe in. A real role model. Though she does choose violence more than is probably appropriate for general society. 

Which leads me to what might be a controversial topic. My Facebook algorithm showed me a post from someone saying that stalls that with solid walls where the horses can't see and interact with each other are a red flag. And all I could think was clearly you've never owned a mare... Shiny HATED that set up at the old boarding barn and that's in fact what resulted in not once but TWICE getting giant splinters in her hoof. Someone in the comments had a similar thought and the OP wrote back that it's because these horses failed to learn how to socialize and it's the result of being so solitary all the time. Which I dunno maybe? But I really think not every horse wants to be stared at all the time. Yesterday when I took Eros out to ride he stopped to visit with Shiny first. She was eating lunch and got so pissed that he looked at her she kicked the wall. Twice. Sorry Shiny. I mean, I agree that horses should be socialized. And I would love to turn mine out as a herd, but they're a bunch of dinguses that will wound each other immediately so I don't do it. You have to balance that risks and benefits. My horses are generally happy with their set up, but it's not right for everyone. And that's something that bugs me about social media. All these "experts" that think the best way on paper is the best for every horse. And it's just not. 

Anyway, I went off on a tangent there didn't I? I have some braiding stuff happening that's fun this week. My hunter braid tutorial just posted on TurnoutHQ! The full video is in three parts on the main site/app and there's a teaser version on our socials too. I'd love for you to check them out and feel free to ask questions. I'll be answering them all! Also in braiding news, I'm heading up to Uconn tonight for my annual braiding clinic. Should be fun!

I think that's about it from here for now. How are things going with you guys? Enjoying mud season? (Haha.)



Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Truthful Tuesday

 

Well guys, I messed up on Sunday. I set my usual two alarms. And somehow slept through both of them. I woke up at 8AM! I ran out in my jammies to feed the horses before heading back inside to put on appropriate horse chores clothing. 

Thankfully, my horses aren't too tied to a clock so they didn't seem terribly offended that breakfast was more than 30 minutes late. Thank goodness. But I sure felt terrible about it! It all worked out okay in the long run because it was going to be a rainy afternoon so I figured we wouldn't get to ride anyway. They got to stay out a little longer but were back inside just in time for the rain to start. 

I've since added a third alarm to the mix that's significantly louder. 

Thursday, March 19, 2026

Thursday's Threads: St Patrick's Day edition

 

Outfit Day!! You'll have to use your imagination a little with this one because we didn't get to actually ride in our St Patty's day outfit this year. We're going to use some old photos from our Pinsnickety photo shoot that the very talented Chelsea Lothrop took a few years ago for Eros' outfit. Here's what he would have worn this week if the weather had played nicer. 


He would have been wearing his Joseph Sterling bridle with the Dark Jewel spiked browband. He has a cute Pinsnickety pin in his forelock in this photo. 
He also would have been wearing his Butet saddle, this mattes pad, and that adorable Lettia baby pad. We probably wouldn't have had a number on though. 

That's what the horses would have worn (more or less) and here's what I had on, because I did have high hopes that we might ride.
Nothing says St Patty's like green and gold! I really had no idea I'd get so much use of these $50 Winnie the Pooh colored breeches. 

Sweater: Luyaa
This is one of my many inexpensive wool sweaters that are perfect for the barn. This one has a weird neck line though. I think it's stretched out. But whatever. Horse clothes don't have to be perfect. 

Belt: Unbranded
Buckle: Ovation
I'm not sure what happened to the strap this belt actually came with, but I'm using it on this yellow one today. It doesn't look it here, but the belt and the breeches are pretty much the exact same shade. 

Breeches: Vestrum
These are a ridiculous color for breeches. RIDICULOUS. But here we are. Loving them! Ha! 

Socks: Dreamers and Schemers
I've had a few lucky themed boot socks over the years, but these are my favorites so far. 

Since I didn't ride, I didn't wear boots or a helmet. But here's what I would have worn if I did. 
Boots: TuffRider (embellished by me) 
Helmet: Equinavia
I'm really impressed with how the glitter paint has held up on these boots over the years. Makes me want to paint more boots... but I won't. For now anyway. I'm looking into a fun new green helmet from Fair Play to possibly replace this one. I don't love how this helmet fits me so I hardly ever wear it. But I'm not sure the Fair Play one will be any better. It's really pretty though! 

Okay that's it for this week! Any favorites? Anything you guys want to see soon? Themes, colors? Anything? Let me know in the comments!






Wednesday, March 18, 2026

What's Up Wednesday

 

As is the norm for March, we've had all kinds of weather lately. 70 degrees, 40 degrees, rain, snow, THUNDERSTORMS! Currently it's 25 degrees outside. So our triumphant return to work is rather intermittent. But that's okay. I know consistent riding days are coming. So close I can smell them! In the meantime, we do what we can when we can, and we're happy with that. 

The snow is pretty much entirely gone except for where the snow plow piles were exceptionally big. I feel like I have so much more space to move around. I hadn't really noticed how confined I felt by all the snow until it as gone. Everything feels better with it gone!

I shared last week that we got to start riding, but we've been taking things slow so no one gets too sore (me included). And then weather made it more slow. So we rode Tuesday and Wednesday, and then didn't get to again until Sunday. A mix of reasons really. Mostly rain, but also wind, and occasionally the cold. 

I'm trying this new thing this year where I base my decision whether or not to ride on what I feel is best for my horses AND myself in the moment. And NOT on whether or not I could be perceived as wimpy by some outside third party. I don't think I need to prove how tough I am, or how brave I can be anymore. After this winter, I know I'm both of those things. I'm also approaching 46 years old, and the body doesn't work the same as it did ten years ago. After not riding for so long, I'm weaker and my balance is probably less good as a result. It will all come back the more we ride. But on days where the wind is gusting in excess of 40 MPH, I don't need to test my ability to "ride through" spring tine shenanigans. 


Which doesn't mean I chicken out of every ride that they seem spicy. Al came out very attentive on Sunday but after some ground work he settled and we got our ride completed as planned. But it does mean that if I decide not to ride one day I don't feel guilty about it. The horses have survived the winter with lots of no riding, and are none the worse for the wear. So if sometimes this summer we have 5 day work weeks instead of six, I'm going to be okay with that. And so will they. At least I hope. That's the plan. I'm Jewish, so guilt is instilled in me very strongly. Not sure if I can just turn that off. But I'm going to try!


Anyway, our rides right now are walk trot rides. We're doing three laps of walk each way, then trotting two laps each way, and then finishing with another three laps each way at the walk. It's about a 20 minute ride. I plan to add a lap of trot each week. Once we're trotting five laps each way we'll add in some canter. I figure we'll be to full work in a 4-6 weeks depending on how much saddle time we get. 

I am very much looking forward to getting back to full work. My plan to keep the weight off this winter has failed miserably and I have 15 lbs to get off. To be fair, I gained about 8 this winter, but I already had some excess to start... (See above, approaching 46... The struggle is real.) It's interesting to see how bodies work because I stayed very active this winter, but more so with strength type exercise and less so cardio. As a result, despite my weight gain, my blood sugar and A1C are still great, but with the lack of cardio my cholesterol has gone up. Could also be the level of cheese consumption... Both of those things. Ha! Anyway, hopefully once I'm back to fully riding three horses a day things will get back to good. I have my annual physical tomorrow so we'll see what kind of lecture I get... (Also, why did I schedule an 8am physical?)

I don't have too much else to report. We took yesterday off for wind, and today we'll be off due to frozen footing. But the rest of the week looks promising for rides every day. Fingers crossed!

Any tips or tricks for weight loss that won't make me cry? Share away! 

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Truthful Tuesday

 

I'm a little ashamed of this one... I cleaned out a coat closet last week and you'll never believe what I found. FIVE pairs of paddock boots. Two winter pairs that I clearly got on sale because they are a half size too small (those went straight to the donate pile) and then three pair of perfectly good regular boots. While I am ashamed of myself for hoarding boots, it was actually a great discovery since I had several pair retire at the end of last year. I still think I want to find something waterproof for doing chores in, these finds will definitely go to use in the barn this year. I guess look for them on future Thursday's Threads.

Any of you find any weird hoards recently? We're getting to spring cleaning time, so let me know if you do!


Thursday, March 12, 2026

Thursday's Threads

 

Outfit Day! AND I have a RIDING outfit today! It's not a crazy exciting one, cause you know, mud everywhere. But still. I HAVE BREECHES ON! And my new helmet that I bought two months ago. But first... Here's what Eros wore this week:

They've all lost a ton of muscle so we have a lot of work to do. But his weight isn't too bad for all that time off. And I can see his summer coat coming in! Pretty shiny too considering we haven't done our first baths yet. 

Bridle: Pinnacle
Browband: Boy O'Boy Bridleworks
I'm still really happy with these bridles. They aren't the softest most luxurious, but for the price point they are really holding up beautifully. And the horses like them which is most important. 

Saddle: Butet
Half Pad: Mattes
Baby Pad: Ogilvy
Oh how I've missed sitting in this! I was very happy to discover my saddles to be mold free after I've ignored them for several months. I did dedicate a day to cleaning and conditioning them at some point during our hiatus. But I haven't looked at them since. 

I don't have a wrap photo today because we go bare legged in muddy conditions.

Okay, my turn!!

Man it feels good to wear breeches again.

Helmet: Samshield
Look at this glossy bad boy! It's so shiny you can see my phone taking the photo. They had a navy one too that I was hoping I could get soon, but looks like it's since sold. Bummer. 

Sweater:THML
You've all seen this sweater before. It's one of my favorites!

Belt: Mane Jane
Good news if you ever wanted one of these Mane Jane belts but never got around to getting one. They've brought them back! I love them so much, 10/10 highly recommend.

Breeches:RJ Classics
You might remember that my TS brown breeches met a possibly embarrassing demise during a vet appointment last summer. I was planning to replace them with another pair of TS but hadn't gotten around to it. Back in December I went to a tent sale at my closest tack store and they had these RJ's for under $100 so I got them instead. I was worried they might not fit after this very long winter, but they're good! (Phew.)

Half Chaps and Paddock Boots: HKM
I like how these half chaps attach to the boots rather than having that bulky bottom with the elastic under your foot. Especially during mud season! They aren't the most durable but they're also not very expensive, so my expectations are low for them. They're very comfortable and I think very attractive, so I do recommend them, even if they might not live forever. I absolutely would buy them again. 

And that's it for today! Any favorite items from today? How about that glossy helmet?!